Behind the Resume #73 – Emily Duckworth

What is your title at EvCC, and what will you be doing in your day-to-day endeavors at the College?

My title is Program Assistant in the Testing Center. I’ll be responsible for administering placement, proctored, TS/ELA tests for new and returning students. 

Tell us a little about your professional background.

Once upon a time, from 2007-2012, I was employed by the College as a student employee in the Bookstore (07-09), and as a part-time hourly Office Assistant in Facilities (09-12). I left the College to pursue a culinary career. I became the College’s cook for three different contractors, and happily prepared, cooked, and served college students, faculty, and staff. I decided that I wanted to change careers for various reasons (but not my environment), and here I am; back where I feel I belong.

What was your most memorable job? Why?

My most memorable job is here at EvCC, because I have done a variety of tasks and duties in various departments, and have felt accomplished in each and every role. 

What is your favorite meal/ snack in summer? Favorite summer beverage?

My favorite meal in the summer is cedar-planked honey-bbq salmon. My favorite beverage is a cold-crisp IPA.

Tell us three things most people don’t know about you. 

I have identical twin girls who are 17, and a red-headed 14-year-old son. I call them my mutants. :). I have three pets; 2 cats and a dog. 

What is your favorite book? Favorite movie? What makes these choices your favorites? 

I enjoy a variety of books and movies, it’s hard to pick a favorite.

What are you reading right now/ what was the last book you read? Are you participating in any reading challenges?

The last book I read was “The Book of Joy: Lasting Happiness in a Changing World”. Written by H.H. the Dalai Lama, Desmond Tutu, and Douglas Carlton Abrams. I found it to be insightful and filled with wonderful philosophy to create lasting joy in troublesome times. 

Where is your hometown? Were you born and raised in the same place?

I was born in Seattle, and was raised in West Seattle.

What do you like to do on your days off?

I like to garden, paint, or hike.

Do you have a favorite quote/ piece of advice?

My mom always said, “Don’t sweat the small stuff, and it’s all small stuff.”

Leave a Reply