Behind the Resume #53 – Khou Moua

Khou Moua new employee photoWhat is your title at EvCC, and what will you be doing in your day-to-day endeavors at the College?

My title is: Administrate Assistant 3 or Faculty Support Staff. Day-to-day endeavors: supporting and assisting faculty, maintain division databases, tracking division travel, and assisting and collaborating with coordinators and project leaders for the Humanities Alliance.

Tell us a little about your professional background.

I have spent about 4 years at Western Washington University as Program Support Staff for the College of Business and Economics. I helped coordinate events, updated budget reconciliations, and assist in events that required travel.  

What was your most memorable job? Why?

Hmong dancers
I spent a quarter coordinating a tradition Hmong dance for Cultural Shock at WWU.  

I wouldn’t consider this a job, but more like a passion and a goal. During my undergraduate years at Western Washington University, I helped organize and establish a cultural club at WWU called the Western Hmong Student Association. The goal and purpose of the cultural club was to bridge the higher education community and the Hmong community together. Statistically, the Hmong community in the Northwest has fewer higher education participants, in which motivated me to make a difference for the community. I love my culture and assisting my community towards success.

What does a typical day look like for you?

It’s only been the third day for me, but usually I arrive at my office a little bit before 7:15 a.m. Then, I go around the building to open workrooms and place notices on classrooms (if needed). After that, I do lots of online training and review documents relating to my position’s duties. I grab some coffee and continue with my work until the end of the day.

Khou & family at volleyball tournament
My family and I during a volleyball tournament 2 years ago.

Describe yourself at 12 years old.

When I was 12 years old, I loved to play sports. I was especially invested in volleyball and tennis during those times. I participated and joined not only the school volleyball team, but also the city volleyball leagues. I was extremely outgoing and loved the outdoors. Now I just play volleyball with my family and friends.

What is your favorite meal/ snack in summer? Favorite summer beverage?

My favorite meal in the summer is pho, especially when my mother makes it. Although it is a warm noodle soup, I crave it the most during the summer. Favorite summer beverage definitely has to be cold ice water.

What would be the title of your autobiography?

My Crazy Hmong Life

What is the first concert you attended?

I haven’t been to a concert yet.

What is your vacation spot in the summer months?

Usually my vacation spots are at the beaches or anywhere with nice scenery, or my parents’ home in Spokane.

What are you reading right now/ what was the last book you read? Are you participating in any reading challenges?

Khou & fiance
My fiancé and I during our trip to bay.

My last book I re-read was the Lord of the Rings: The Hobbits by JRR Tolkien.

What one food do you wish had zero calories?


Where is your hometown? Were you born and raised in the same place?

My hometown is Spokane. I was born there and raised there, until I decided to go to Western Washington University. Now I live here, on the west coast.

Khou in Kyoto, Japan
I spent one year studying aboard in Japan. This is a picture from Kyoto, Japan.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself traveling the world. I have traveled to Japan, but I would love to visit my friends in France and Australia.

What do you like to do on your days off?

I like to lift weights and watch a good movie.

Do you have a favorite quote/ piece of advice?

“Take your time, but don’t waste your time. There’s a difference. And finding that balance will make your experience these next 10 years really awesome.” – Philip Wang from WongFu Production.