Behind the Resume #15 – Hannah Lovett

Hannah LovettWhat is your title at EvCC, and what will you be doing in your day-to-day endeavors at the College?

I am a Program Specialist 3 with the eLearning Department. I will be troubleshooting and orienting students and faculty to Canvas. I will do orientations for students, and assist faculty with using Canvas as a teaching tool. I will basically be endeavoring to become a Canvas expert and resource on campus.

Tell us a little about your professional background.

I have been really blessed to try my hand at many different jobs in a variety of fields. I worked multiple jobs throughout my school experience to get a feel of what I enjoyed doing and what my aptitudes are. I started working at Everett Community College in the Student Activities Department (now Student LIFE) while I was working toward my Associates degree. I started as an office assistant, became office manager the following year, and then finally the Special Events Coordinator for the Student Programs Board. I received my Bachelor’s degree in Human Services from Western Washington University through University Center where I also worked as an office assistant and a temporary Program Assistant for WWU on campus. I completed three internships during the course of my Bachelor’s degree at Everett Transitional Housing, The Office of Public Defense, and Olympic Ballet Theatre. I have also worked for Imagine Children’s Museum in Visitor Services and the Everett Fire Department as an Administrative Assistant in their Training Department. This summer, I worked for tech companies like Valve, Square Enix, and Microsoft as a brand ambassador at events like the Dota 2 Championship and PAX Prime.

Pueto Rico
Pueto Rico

What was your first job?

I started working occasionally at my Step-Dad’s firewood processing business, Gold Bar Trading Post, when I was about 13 years old. It was hard work, but I was taught about running a small business, working with people from all walks of life, and to be alert and aware (flying firewood is no joke!) I also moved to Puerto Rico just before my 18th birthday to work on a Mennonite Mission where I homeschooled missionaries’ children and helped out with Vacation Bible School and the elderly population.

What does a typical day look like for you?

During the week, I drop my 11 and 14 year old sisters off at the bus stop and then head to work. Currently, I am doing a lot of training and learning the typical questions people have about Canvas by answer phone calls and e-mails. I am usually on campus from 7:40am-5:00pm. After work, I run errands, do chores, or work out and then crash in front of Netflix. My husband works 2nd shift so we don’t get to see a lot of each other during the week. There is never a typical weekend with us, sometimes we take short trips, catch up with friends, volunteer, or just be lazy.

Describe yourself at 10 years old.

At 10 years old, I was struggling to learn live without my Dad, who was a police officer killed in the line of duty when I was 8. I spent most of my time when I wasn’t in school outside on our 5 ½ wooded acres, taking dance classes, or writing. Even at a young age I had many interests and wanted to pursue them all. I wanted to be professional ballet dancer for the New York City Ballet, a detective, and an author. Ambitious! I still really love to dance, and take classes whenever I can. I have done ballet, modern, lyrical, hip-hop, jazz, tap, Irish Step-dancing, Scottish Highland and Country dancing, and dabbled in partner dancing like Swing. I wouldn’t say I am very talented, I just really enjoy it.

What’s the one thing you can’t live without?

My husband, Jared, and myself
My husband, Jared, and myself

That’s hard. I think I could live without a lot of things if I had to, but I have become pretty dependent on the internet. I definitely would not like living without my husband. He is my best friend and supporter.

Are you messy or organized?

Organized for the most part. I am a neat freak, but sometimes the time just isn’t there.

What is the most important/valuable thing you have learned in the last five years?

Do not compare yourself or your journey to other people. It will drive you crazy, and hinder you from becoming the best you can be.

My mom, Lori, and me at my graduation from WWU
My mom, Lori, and me at my graduation from WWU

What’s on your bucket list?

I would love to go to Ireland and England. Some of the family’s background is Irish and I have just always wanted to go there. I also love English television shows, and there is the Harry Potter museum…

What is your favorite hobby or pastime?

me and my friend Yuki at our annual International Lolita Day celebration this year (2015)
My friend, Yuki, and myself at our annual International Lolita Day celebration this year

I have talked about dance, but right now I am into Japanese Lolita Fashion. Lolita is a fashion based on historical Rococo, Victorian, and Baroque fashions (nothing to do with Nabokov’s novel). It is a fun way to dress, because it is like wearing clothing out of a fairy tale and people get really creative with it. There is a fairly large west coast community that gets together to do all sorts of activities from going to conventions to tea parties to going out to eat, which I participate in. It is a great way to get to know people from around the world, too.

What are you reading right now/ what was the last book you read? Are you participating in any reading challenges?

I listen to Dead Beat by Jim Butcher as an audiobook while I commute. Dead Beat is part of a modern fantasy/mystery series called the Dresden Files. It is so addicting.

My husband, Jared, and myself
My husband, Jared, and myself

If you could witness any historical event, what would you want to see? Why?

I am interested in women’s studies and the evolution of gender roles, etc. I would like to witness some of the pivotal events in women’s suffrage, maybe picketing the White House or the 1917 march in New York.

Where is your hometown? Were you born and raised in the same place?

I was born in Seattle. I lived in Shoreline until I was 7, and in Machias until I was 16, when my family moved to Arlington.

How many homes have you lived in since you were born?

About eight.

If your life were a book, what would it be titled?

Truth is Stranger than Fiction, my life has been a little unusual.

My sister-in-law, Ariel, & myself at LeakyCon in Portland
My sister-in-law, Ariel, & myself at LeakyCon in Portland

Do you have a favorite quote/ piece of advice?

We do not need the magic to change the world. We carry all the power we need inside ourselves already: we have the power to imagine better.

~J. K. Rowling

Leave a Reply