Behind the Resume #21 – Flora Salto Vazquez

Flora Salto VazquezWhat is your title at EvCC, and what will you be doing in your day-to-day endeavors at the College?

Program Coordinator, Enrollment Services at Parks Student Union: Assist students and college personnel with student record updates/changes, interpret and implement state and federal policies regarding residency community and college personnel, and more!

Tell us a little about your professional background.
Greg & myself, celebrating when I became a US Citizen
Greg & myself, celebrating when I became a US Citizen

10 years of experience working for Holiday Inn and Fiesta Americana hotels at the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico. 9 years as a Groups and Conventions Director for Anfitriones Nacionales in Mexico City where I planned, coordinated and executed over 2500 banquets, meetings, groups and conventions. Planned international meetings in such countries as: Argentina, Bahamas, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Finland, France, Hong Kong, México, Netherlands, Panama, Singapore, Thailand, and United States

What was your first job?

Room service cashier at Holiday Merida, Yucatan, Mexico

What does a typical day look like for you?

My puppy, Canela
My puppy, Canela

Get up at 6:00 AM, 30 minutes of Yoga, Take dogs to the back yard, provided food and fresh water for them. Take a shower, have a light breakfast, go to work from 8 to 5, come back from work, fix family dinner, clean and organized our home, go for a walk with my family and dogs, water my plants, work a little bit in the garden, take a nice shower and relaxing reading, playing music, doing yoga, meditation or chat in the computer with my family and friends.

Describe yourself at 10 years old.

I was a very active girl, participating in Rhythm Gymnastics, drama club, church choir and taking care of my 5 siblings.

Our cat, Rayitas
Our cat, Rayitas

What’s the one thing you can’t live without?

My pets 3 dogs and 2 cats now

Are you messy or organized?

Super clean and organized

What is the most important/valuable thing you have learned in the last five years?

The importance of reduce my carbon food print and be a vegan person

What’s on your bucket list?

Visit Greece and Italy

What is your favorite hobby or pastime?

Hiking in the forest with my husband Greg and our 3 Cocker Spaniel dogs.

What are you reading right now/ what was the last book you read? Are you participating in any reading challenges?

Our daughters, Flora & Paulina
My daughters, Flora & Paulina

No Mud, No Lotus

From: Thich Nhat Hanh

I am not participating right now in any reading challenge.

If you could witness any historical event, what would you want to see? Why?

The Discovery of America by Christopher Columbus. I will advise the natives about the real intentions of the visitors…

Where is your hometown? Were you born and raised in the same place?

I was borne in Veracruz in the Gulf of Mexico, 40 days after we moved to Mexico City where I was raised.

How many homes have you lived in since you were born?


If your life were a book, what would it be titled?

“Flora and her fauna”

Do you have a favorite quote/ piece of advice?

In a world where you can be anything, be kind!

Leave a Reply