Behind the Resume #45 – Jesse Aspree

Jesse Aspree New Employee PhotoWhat is your title at EvCC, and what will you be doing in your day-to-day endeavors at the College?

Associate Director in the International Education department. My main endeavors will be international marketing, recruitment and retention activities; advising international students on cultural, immigration, and assist with new international student orientation.

Tell us a little about your professional background.

Jesse with wife and son at a wedding
With my family at a wedding

After graduating from community college, I was fortunate enough to study abroad in France, which had a huge impact on why I chose to work in the International Education field. My first job in education was at South Seattle (Community) College in International Marketing and Advising as an intern and later as a full-time employee for 3 years. After this, I took a position in the International Student Services department at Edmonds CC where I worked in a variety of roles developing relationships with international schools and agencies, working with faculty/staff on global engagement activities, and developing study abroad and short term programs.

What was your most memorable job? Why?

I delivered inflatable bouncy houses all around Western Washington for kids’ birthday parties for about a year. I loved the reactions of the kids as I inflated the giant dinosaurs and castles in front of them.

Jesse with son and wife
With my son and wife

What does a typical day look like for you?

Morning coffee and a bagel, off to work, return home, outdoor soccer game, go to bed, repeat.

Describe yourself at 12 years old.

Probably a bit nerdy, I recall spending a majority of my time playing the original 8-bit Nintendo, infatuated with pro basketball and the Supersonics, and lots of piano lessons (not by choice).

What is your favorite meal/ snack in winter? Favorite winter beverage?

I’d have to say raclette or fondue since I’m a big fan of cheese. Warm sake would be my go to winter beverage.

What would be the title of your autobiography?

Jesse fishing with his dad
Fishing with my dad

Hakuna Matata

What is the first concert you attended?

Bush and Gwen Stefani

What is your favorite hobby or pastime?

This is an easy one, soccer for sure.

Jesse and family in Japan
With family in Japan

What are you reading right now/ what was the last book you read? Are you participating in any reading challenges?

Shoe Dog: A memoir by the creator of Nike.

What one food do you wish had zero calories?

Pumpkin Pie

Where is your hometown? Were you born and raised in the same place?

I was born in Inglewood, California but raised partly in Washington and partly in Hawaii.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Pretty much the same place I am now

What do you like to do on your days off?

Snowboarding, or playing my ukulele.

Do you have a favorite quote/ piece of advice?

“Only pack what you can carry yourself”

Jesse and his wife in Puerto Vallarta
With my wife, Miki in Puerto Vallarta

Leave a Reply