Behind the Resume #47 – Tarin Tesfaye

New employee photo - Tarin TesfayeWhat is your title at EvCC, and what will you be doing in your day-to-day endeavors at the College?

I am the new Grant Specialist in Resource Development. I will mostly be writing grants, coordinating with those within EvCC and other community organizations.

Tell us a little about your professional background.

I received my B.S. in Microbiology and spent 5 years doing research on salmonid viruses. I was involved with grant work during my research there. I moved to Ethiopia in 2013 and spent some time teaching spoken English at a local school until I began working in grant writing again. I spent 3 years working with a Dutch humanitarian NGO, called ZOA, where we worked with refugees and displaced people within Ethiopia. In early 2017, I moved back to the US and began working as a Development Director for a local non-profit. I decided to focus more on grant writing, and that’s how I ended up at EvCC!

What was your most memorable job? Why?

My most memorable job was with ZOA. Working overseas changed my perspective on virtually every aspect of my life. Although living in Ethiopia was void of any luxury and riddled with a lot of illness, it was an experience I would never trade.

4) What does a typical day look like for you?

Tarin's 2-year-old boy and 4-month-old boy
My boys, ages 2.5 and 4 months  

My day usually starts with a crying baby (no need for an alarm clock!) and a cup of coffee. At work, most of my day is full of reading and writing (and more coffee). Reading calls for proposals, then writing proposals. I throw in a few meetings here and there to gather content for the grants. I have also been enjoying the mid-day wellness classes. After work, I head home to spend time with a wild dinosaur (my toddler) and happy baby.

Describe yourself at 12 years old.

At 12, I was an outgoing child. I always had something to say and never had trouble making friends. I was really into music; that year I quite enjoyed the likes of Montell Jordan. During that school year, I started playing volleyball and throwing shotput in track and field. Just a normal 12-year-old, I suppose.

What is your favorite meal/ snack in winter? Favorite winter beverage?

I love grilled cheese and tomato soup during the winter! Especially on a snowy day. My favorite beverage is mulled cider, but probably only have it once during the winter.

Traditional Ethiopian Coffee Ceremony at in-laws' home in Ethiopia
Traditional Ethiopian Coffee Ceremony at my in-laws’ home in Ethiopia

What would be the title of your autobiography?

For the Love of Coffee

Being from the Seattle area and living in the birthplace of coffee for years, this title seems most appropriate.

What is the first concert you attended?

Backstreet Boys! I am not ashamed to admit that I was a boy band junkie as a teenager. And yes, I still know ALL the songs word-for-word.

What is your favorite hobby or pastime?

Tarin with her husband
My husband and I

I love hiking. There is nothing better than a lovely morning hike and lunch with a view!

What are you reading right now/ what was the last book you read? Are you participating in any reading challenges?

The last book I read was titled, “No Greater Love.” It’s a true story about an American family that moved to southern Ethiopia to start a rescue orphanage for children sentenced to be murdered as part of a tribal superstition. It’s an incredible story and a very quick read.

What one food do you wish had zero calories?

Ice cream! Or chocolate!

Our home in Ethiopia
Our home in Ethiopia

Where is your hometown? Were you born and raised in the same place?

I was born and raised in Lake Stevens. Then, I lived in Seattle for 9 years during and after college until I got married. Less than 2 weeks after our wedding, I moved to Ethiopia for almost 4 years, and now I am back in the same exact house that I grew up in Lake Stevens!

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself in a very similar place as I am now: steady job, loving family. Hopefully, we will have purchased a home within that time and possibly have a growing family (whether that be through birth, fostering or adoption).

What do you like to do on your days off?

I enjoy spending time with my family. My husband and I have 2 young boys so we spend most of our time just being together, which usually involves futball (soccer). We were even playing futball in the snow this past weekend!

Tarin and family playing in the snow
Playing in the snow this past weekend with my family

Do you have a favorite quote/ piece of advice?

My favorite quote is a Bible verse. “When Christ who is your life appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.” – Colossians 3:4

Leave a Reply