Behind the Resume #61 – Lori Greenwood

Lori Greenwood new employee photoWhat is your title at EvCC, and what will you be doing in your day-to-day endeavors at the College?

My title is Communications Consultant/Customer Relationship Management (CRM) Specialist. My day-to-day workload will include the launch of two relationship technology systems: Radius CRM and Mongoose Texting. Once implemented, these systems will help to communicate with and track prospective students as they progress toward enrollment.

Tell us a little about your professional background.

I’ve had more than 20 years of experience as a multi-faceted communications professional. With hands-on understanding in traditional advertising, as well as digital marketing, I enjoy using campaign analytics to build data-driven strategies. I have previous experience implementing Radius CRM and Mongoose texting for higher ed enrollment management, and I look forward to working with the EvCC implementation team on this project.

selfie of Lori Greenwood in front of computer monitors
I’m temporarily located in Jenny Marin’s office, OLY 206B, while she’s out on maternity leave – feel free to drop by and say “hi.”

What was your most memorable job? Why?

Previous faith-based, nonprofit work as a communications specialist was especially memorable because it enabled me to travel to more than 25 nations of the world — where I developed a great love for diverse cultures, customs, and cuisines.

What does a typical day look like for you?

A typical day at work is pretty exciting! I not only have the opportunity to write persuasive copy/content, I also write criteria logic, with the goal of building fully-automated communications plans designed to guide prospective students through next steps. While our campus implementation team is early in the process, once “live,” the system data points will allow users to zero-in on target audiences, and tailor messages based on where a student is in the enrollment process. Sounds awesome, right? But wait until you hear the best part… My role will include training system users. And, since we have unlimited user licenses, any staff or faculty member that would like to work with prospective students can use the system to do so.

Describe yourself at 12 years old.

At 12 years of age, I attended a small parochial school in the Chicago area with my two sisters and one brother. I haven’t been able to wear plaid, since.

What is your favorite meal/snack? Favorite winter beverage?

Influenced by the years of international travel, some of my favorite meals include Ayam Kampung and Nyama Choma. Favorite beverage is coffee – especially in the winter.

 What would be the title of your autobiography?

Okay, this question stumped me. So, I asked Buzz Feed for some help (really). After filling-out their short questionnaire, here’s their title suggestion… I Don’t Wanna Talk About It: My 52,000,000-Word Autobiography.”

What is the first concert you attended?

Chicago Symphony Orchestra with Sir Georg Solti conducting.

Lori, husband and 3 kidsWhat is a defining moment in your life?

For me, a defining moment in life was to be a first-generation college student, however, it’s second to becoming a parent! Here’s my family (left to right): My husband Tom, me, our son-in-law Austin, who is married to our oldest daughter Crista, and our youngest daughter, Anna.

What are you reading right now/what was the last book you read? Are you participating in any reading challenges?

I’ve had this book for a while now, but I am finally getting around to reading Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates. Written as a letter to his son, Coates tries to make sense of racial injustice and exposes the irony of living in a world that refuses to allow him the freedoms that many others take for granted.

 What one food do you wish had zero calories?

Ayam Kampung, of course… or maybe Nyama Choma.

Where is your hometown? Were you born and raised in the same place?

I was born and raised in Chicago and lived there until I completed an undergraduate degree at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Other locations I’ve lived include New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. I relocated to Seattle, Washington in 2004, and I live just south of the college, in Lynnwood.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years (and beyond), I see myself here at EvCC, contributing to the success of our community.

What do you like to do on your days off?

I use my days off to try to catch-up on various home improvement projects. Lately, I’ve been scrapping a popcorn ceiling. Yep, it’s as fun as it sounds! When I need a break from the projects, I enjoy spending time at Seattle Art Museum, which I often refer to as “my happy place.”

Do you have a favorite quote/piece of advice?

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do, than by the ones you did do.” – Mark Twain

Leave a Reply